26 (Twenty Six)

On January 26th of my twenty-sixth year I wondered into a used bookstore at the corner of second avenue and sixth street.  The air within smelled of stuffiness, old paper and dust but was not unpleasant to turn visitors away.   After greeting the store clerk or bookstore owner, I meandered through piles of books and rows of bookshelves overstuffed with books, magazines, posters and maps.  The narrow windows near the ceiling let in the sunshine so there was just enough light to see where I was going.  I made my way to the very end of the store opposite the front door.  Children’s books gathered in unsorted piles, stacked to various heights but I was able to find the “Golden books series” that I used to read when I was very young.  I thought about buying “The Princess and the Pea” and “The Three Little Pigs”, both my favorites, but decided against it because they would just get shoved among my textbooks and what not, only to be thrown out when I have to move out of university student housing.  I looked at my wristwatch to see if I should stay or leave.  It was already 2:26 pm, meaning there’s nine minutes before I bus will be leaving.

  • 26 (Twenty Six) = 26*26 = 676
  • 26 (20+6) = 26*20 + 26*6 = 520 + 156 = 676
  •   :  erh shyr lio : 2 10 6
  • 26 is the only integer that is one greater than a square (25 = 5^2) and one less than a cube (27 = 3^3).
  • A rhombicuboctahedron has twenty-six sides.
  • Luke 6:20-26  The Beatitudes

20 And turning His gaze toward His disciples, He began to say, “Blessed are [a]you who are poor, for yours is the kingdom of God. 21 Blessed are [b]you who hunger now, for you shall be satisfied. Blessed are you who weep now, for you shall laugh. 22 Blessed are you when men hate you, and ostracize you, and insult you, and scorn your name as evil, for the sake of the Son of Man. 23 Be glad in that day and leap for joy, for behold, your reward is great in heaven. For in the same way their fathers used to [c]treat the prophets. 24 But woe to you who are rich, for you are receiving your comfort in full. 25 Woe to you who [d]are well-fed now, for you shall be hungry. Woe to you who laugh now, for you shall mourn and weep. 26 Woe to you when all men speak well of you, for their fathers used to [e]treat the false prophets in the same way.  (New American Standard Bible, NASB)

  • Feng Shui:  “easy luck” numbers, “easily growing, easily profitable, easily prosperous, easy enough”
  • 1210 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205 – American restaurant, tel: 205.918.0726

Daily Prompt

4 thoughts on “26 (Twenty Six)

  1. Pingback: Your Days are Numbered: The sacred & unutterable name of God | Khana's Web

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Your Days Are Numbered | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Your Days are Numbered | The Wandering Poet

  4. Pingback: Of a bad week. | Concentrate On Yourself

Share your thoughts!

