“Hor-Jiak” – Good Eats!

Tell us about something you’ve tried to quit. Did you go cold turkey, or for gradual change? Did it stick?

Kong Hee Huat Chai – to all those celebrating CNY, Year of the Horse this lunar year.  This time around, CNY feels a bit more quiet than usual.  No homes or elders to greet, and none to receive.

Gung Hee Fatt Choy – Good thing too because we did not have anything prepared.  It would have been nice to be in Toronto or Vancouver, and of course even better to be in South East Asia or PRC.

Selamat Hari Raya – My sis said she missed her favorite “orange pop” at CNY and the new shoes, red outfit, new bags, socks and two more new outfits.  This made me think that my little guy has never celebrated a traditional CNY.  I hope we will some day.

Gong Xi, Gong Xi -What does CNY make it think of?  Of Popo because she went about spreading positive verbal greetings to all her children and grandchildren.  With each red packet, the blessings mean more than the new crisp bills within.  When Popo left, Mom and Dad’s blessings meant the most.

Xin Nian Kuai Le – After experiencing the loss of Popo, I realized that I did not have anything of hers with me.  Only memories.  So, whenever I get a birthday lai-cee, ang-pow or hung-pau from m&d, I saved them.  Now, I’ve got some in my jewelry box, in my favorite books, in my day timer, wallet, closet.  I’m not usually a “pantang” person, but keeping m&d’s blessings everywhere made me feel happier.

So what happy beginnings am I celebrating – how about the happiness of not eating more good eats?!?  Did it stick?  Yup, like Nian Kao.  Oh, I miss nian kao – when it’s in thin slices and fried over the wok.

Happy Chinese New Year!

Daily Prompt

2 thoughts on ““Hor-Jiak” – Good Eats!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happy Endings | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Smoking & the Heart | A mom's blog

Share your thoughts!

