Easier With XP

I made the mistake of checking my email on my smart phone when I got up in the middle of the night.  An on-going project I had signed up for did not require my services anymore.  It was an interesting project, and I gave it my all for the pilot piece. 

 

The “pink slip” was pleasant with thanks and best wishes.  The project owner decided to go with an independent contractor she had worked with in the past.  Yet, I couldn’t help but feel that I had miss the mark somehow.

When it comes to dealing with rejections and bad news, does experience help?  Do the associated feelings of inadequacy, embarrassment and discouragement have less of an impact?In other words, does the fifth rejection feel “better” than the first?  Does the ego somehow bounce back faster?

My real question is this:  what factor(s) has/have to be present so that I suffer less?  Can someone tell me, please?

 

Share your thoughts!

