Delete Day

Daily Prompt: World’s Best Widget

You’ve been granted magical engineering skills, but you can only use them to build one gadget or machine. What do you build?

I am exhausted and I feel empty.  I slept and ate well.  I got out and I stayed in.  I kept myself hydrated.  I worked reasonable hours and I challenged myself just right.

Still, I wish I can do one thing.  If I had were given the engineer’s prowess, limitless budget, ample opportunity and unprecedented success, the world’s best widget I have just created is the ability to delete one complete day of 24 hours, down to the last second.  There would be no penalty for losing the day, and as long as your widget is working, it continues to work.  Even after you’ve ignored it on the side bar for time eternal, it would work the moment you needed it.  This time, you do not need to suffer or accept pain to gain.

I would delete today.  Today because at one minute past the midnight hour, I made a decision.  I decided I would look for a better paying job.  From the reading I did before, I was convinced by those who were once like me that they had set their goal too low.  Had they trusted their talent and ability, they would have found their pot of gold sooner.  I should set my goal as high as my courage would let me and then one more notch above that.  With that resolved, I let sleep come to me.

When it came time to sign up, I found the secret they all had failed to share with me.  I had to pay upfront in order to get insider information.  With the insider information, the pennies would trickle in, not one by one, or even two by two.  But by the thousands.

I need to get working on my widget.  If you want one, I’d be happy to share, but I need to test it out first.  How’s that for kicking it up a notch?!

6 thoughts on “Delete Day

  1. Pingback: Bigger, better, faster, stronger: thank you, Surfer Rob! | Rob's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: World’s Best Widget | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: World’s Best Widget. | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: World’s Best Widget | The Wandering Poet

Share your thoughts!

