Strange, Uneasy Feelings

Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love.  Remember your first crush? Think about that very first object of your affection. Oh, the sweaty palms. The swoony feeling in your stomach. Tell us the story of your first crush. What was it about this person that made your heart pound? Was the love requited? Change the names to protect the guilty or innocent if you must! No judgement here. Happy Valentine’s Day!

The strange and uneasy feelings sat heavily in my stomach.  Food tasted bland.  I was constantly in a daze and no matter how hard I tried, I could not concentrate on my homework.  No topic of conversation interested me, and I had no energy.  I moped about day after day, and sighed way too much.

My best friend was ready to throw me to the sharks or abandon me to my own resources, but being my BFF, she tried everything.  She hit me on the head with heavy books and bit my fingers as hard as she could.  She put way too much hot sauce in my food and “flavoured” my liquids with salt.  I was beyond help.

She had to resort to harsher punishment when I still was not able to snap out of my “funk” in the second week.  She started jabbing me with bobby pins and fired water into my ear with water guns.  She lit fire crackers at my feet and yanked my hair as often as she could.  She even got into trouble with the teacher who thought she was bullying me.  I could not muster the effort to explain to the teacher so I stood in the corner facing the wall with her.  The teacher thought I was so sweet to “turn the other cheek.”

By the end of the month, I had bruises to show for my friend’s faithfulness.  I had pen marks on my face and arms.  I had sailor’s knots in my hair.  On the back of my shirt and jacket, there were sticky notes with very crude words.  Best of all, my finger nails were painted with different neon colours from pen highlighters, so that I looked like a mis-directed youth.

What eventually stopped my brooding was seeing a big “D” on a returned test paper in bold red pen, and Mrs. Devereau’s “???!!!???” and “come see me right away!”  My best said she would see Mrs. Devereau with me in case I needed help explaining my malady for the past month.  When I saw the disappointment in my favourite teacher’s eyes at the end of class that day, the flood gates opened and I cried my hardest.  My BFF had to pull out the tissues and layer them two per blow.  I had such trouble breathing she had to rub my back and squeeze my shoulders.

When finally the tears and sobbing subsided, Mrs. Devereau took my BFF aside.  She came back and told me to study hard because in three days, I had to re-write her test.  She gave me a big hug and sent me on my way.  My BFF grabbed our bags while I walked out like a pre-teen ready to meet her Maker.

My BFF never laughed or yelled at me.  She stood by my side from day 1 and sat in the seat behind me when I wrote my re-test.  I was devastated when my parents decided to immigrate and could not be swayed to let me adopt my BFF as my adopted sister.  I had to bid my BFF adieu, and it was more heart wrenching than being in “love”.  She was better than any boy, and I was very lucky to have her.  She, on the other hand, must be doing penance from something horrible she did in her past life to have to keep a friend like me.

And, just to be a good “friend” to you, Reader, I did well on my re-test.  My BFF and I are still in touch, although are still oceans apart.  We are not so much BFFs now as we are “kindred spirits”.  As for my crush, it was unrequited love.  For being in the state I described, even a miracle would not have resulted in anything.  Silly goose!

4 thoughts on “Strange, Uneasy Feelings

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: I was a teenage girl-watcher | Rob's Surf Report

  4. Pingback: I defy you not to be in to this woman | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

Share your thoughts!

