Beyond the Tomb

Daily Prompt:  Imagine yourself at the end of your life.  What sort of legacy will you leave?  Describe the lasting effect you want to have on the world, after you’re gone.

My first thought was to be the author of a literary end product for students in junior high school.  Through my book, I can teach students something important to guide them through life. 

Then I thought about Shakespeare, Dr. Spock, Julia Child, Emily Post, authors like Margaret Laurence, Charles Dickens, and poets like Robert Louis Stephenson, Charlotte Bronte, and other greats.  Adherents and detractors discuss their work, make assumptions about their intentions and critique their contributions. 

Unfortunately, the opportunity to parley will not be possible.  They had their chance and without any hints of future discussions, they would have to be content with their debate during their lifetime. 

Leaving a legacy is an honor but it requires that assessments to come be left unanswered.  Unfortunately, I do not think I could rest peacefully.  The responsibility of greatness is too much for me.

6 thoughts on “Beyond the Tomb

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – Integrity’s Touch | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. Pingback: This thought FREAKS me out | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Leave It | Edward Hotspur

  5. Pingback: There Is Hidden Treasure | The Chatter Blog

  6. Pingback: Leaving My Mark | Cheri Speak

Share your thoughts!

