Do you know what “platonic” means?

Daily Prompt: Tainted Love.  Ever been dumped by a boyfriend or girlfriend? Was it a total surprise, or something you saw coming? Tell us your best worst breakup story.

I never saw it coming.  I didn’t even know what “platonic” meant.

Merriam-Webster describes it as:

1:  love conceived by Plato as ascending from passion for the individual to contemplation of the universal and ideal
2:  a close relationship between two persons in which sexual desire is nonexistent or has been suppressed or sublimated

The relationship did not really start so how I ended up playing the supporting role in my own jilting should be a miraculous account on its own merits.  We met through youth group.  He was an amazing piano player and sang extremely well.  He captivated the hearts and attention of many of female youth group members.

I did not start out being interested, mainly because he was way out of my league.  I did not play the piano, or I should just admit that I was the world’s worst piano player whose parents invested money on. I did not have perfect pitch and could go off pitch, mostly flat, easily and too often.  Uncle Glenn, who was the choir director probably burst a few blood vessels and cursed under his breath as I brought down the house, literally!

Also, I was a lot dumber when I was sixteen.  I did not understand how guy-girl relationships started or ended, and I couldn’t tell if I was interested in someone or vice versa.  All I realized was that one day, at summer camp, a good friend told me that she thought he showed interest, so much that she was more than sure  The three of us had started to hang out.

But I was the least sophisticated of all, possessed the least number of talents worth admiring.  Soon, the two of them began to discover their mutual interests, and she was ever the charmer, funny, smart and a great baker.  They started hanging out, him helping her with her English homework because he was brilliant in English.

Then, on that fateful day, he arranged to meet me.  Thank God that I was stupid in matters of teenage crushes.  The only part of the conversation I remember, and just vaguely, is that he told me he wanted to have a platonic relationship.  I asked him what “platonic” meant.  He explained it to me, and just well enough that I understood that he no longer had feelings for me, but he wanted to still hang out.  Ok, no problem.

What hurt more was learning that my best friend had invited him over to her place to get help with English homework.  That was how they got to know each other better while the cat was away.

Years later, when I met my current husband, my friend re-entered our lives.  She showed up a few times at his office to inquire about me.  He sent her to the office library and assured her that he would let me know if or when I showed up at his office.  This time, the love of my life, chose me.  I love you, Sweetheart!

9 thoughts on “Do you know what “platonic” means?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Natasha's Memory Garden

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  3. Pingback: In which I do a terrible thing to a nice person | Infinitefreetime

  4. Pingback: In which I have soup: a blog post | Infinitefreetime

  5. Pingback: Fear of loss | alienorajt

  6. Pingback: Humour me dear dumpee | soulfoood

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  8. Pingback: Kinda Sorta Not Really | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

Share your thoughts!

