Happy 30th Birthday, Daddy!

Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance.  What are your earliest and fondest memories of dance?

It was my Dad’s 30th birthday, and our family was enjoying the good times.  My parents were in their prime and had just moved into a big house from a little village home that had been carved into one side of a small hill.

I was supposed to be in bed, but curiosity, shall we say, was one of my strong suits.  So, without a thought what punishment my disobedience would garner, I tiptoed from my bed to the door and pushed my ear against it.  All I could hear was music.

Quietly and stealthily, I turned the door knob slowly and stayed low.  (Where did I learn to do it?  This was pre-CSI, Law & Order, etc…).  Somehow I managed to get down the hallway where it meets the family room.

The music was turned up and the lights were low.  Couples were dancing and some adults were seated along the wall.  On the other wall, food and a huge birthday cake was on a table.  As I scanned the dancers, I saw Mom in a long, flowy red dress dancing with Daddy and they were smiling at each other.  They didn’t look like Mom and Dad, but a pair of lovers happy to be in each other’s arms, swaying to the music.

Image

Happy 30th Birthday, Daddy.  This memory continues to be dear to my heart, so much so that when I turned 30th, it was the one thing that I thought about constantly.  To this day, I am comforted to have personally witnessed two people in love with each other and unquestionably happy.  That’s a good thing!

10 thoughts on “Happy 30th Birthday, Daddy!

  1. It is always so nice to see our parents happy … believe me my feelings are not much different than yours for parents… the way the talk and laugh together have walk , dance each and every moment brings happiness and joy….
    I wish our parents have healthy and happy and above all a long time together … they get a chance to dance in their grand children wedding 🙂
    I hope to see you on
    http://publicawaz.blogspot.com/2014/01/violation-of-mens-rights.html
    thank you for sharing with me such a wonderful blog on linked in

    Like

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  3. Pingback: Blog Dance poem: Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  4. Pingback: Let’s Dance | Alexia Jones

  5. Pingback: … Remember that scene in Hitch? | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance |

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Movement | The Wandering Poet

  8. Pingback: I’ve Danced and Once! | Views Splash!

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  10. Pingback: Let’s Dance! Daily Prompt | alienorajt

Share your thoughts!

